Descent to the Dead (New York: Random House, 1931)

Shane O’Neill’s Cairn
Ossian’s Grave
The Low Sky
The Broadstone
The Giant’s Ring
In the Hill at Newgrange
No Resurrection
Delusion of Saints
Iona: The Graves of the Kings
Shooting Season
Ghosts in England
Inscription for a Gravestone
Shakespeare’s Grave
The Dead to Clemenceau: November 1929
Subjected Earth


[Note: This original appearance of the Descent to the Dead sequence was a small, limited edition volume. Jeffers subsequently included the sequence in Give Your Heart to the Hawks and Other Poems in 1933.]